Contractors’ Licenses are required for anyone in your company or business who can do work on your project. It is strongly suggested that you either hire professionals or find licensed professionals. Still, if you plan on doing the work instead, then it is required that you obtain a contractor’s license. The process of obtaining a contractor’s license and completing your course is simple in Utah. These are just some reasons you need a contractor’s license, not to mention you must have one to bid on any jobs. Below is the process how to get a Contractors License in Utah
There are personal requirements that you must meet before you apply for a contractor’s license. You must:
-Be at least 18 years old
-Have a Social Security number
-Hold a current business license
-Have a physical business location in the state of Utah
-Provide proof of insurance, including workers’ compensation and general liability
-Be able to pass a background check
Registering Your Business
To obtain a Contractor’s License from the State of Utah, you must first register as a business. There are some requirements that you must meet to do this. The first is that you need to choose your field of business. The most popular business types are General Contracting, Electrical, or HVAC. You can also apply for a license in other areas, such as roofing, plumbing, or landscaping Giniloh.
Once you have chosen your business type, you must find a surety bond company. This company will post a bond on your behalf in case you do not complete a job or if you do not pay your workers. The amount of the bond will depend on the size of the job you are bidding on.
After choosing your business type and finding a surety bond company, you must take an exam. The type of exam you take will depend on your business type. You will take the Business and Law exam as a General Contractor. If you are an Electrical Contractor, you will take the Electrical Trade exam. And if you are an HVAC Contractor, you will take the HVAC Trade exam.
Passing the Exam
You must pass the exam with a score of 70% or higher. You must enrol with Rocketcert and purchase the exam prep course for your business type to pass your exam. The cost of the course will depend on which business type you choose. After you have completed the course, you will be able to schedule your exam. The exam is taken online and is open-book bet6.
Applying for Your License
The final step is applying for your license. You will need to fill out an application and pay the fee. The fee for a General Contractor’s License is $300. The fee for an Electrical Contractor’s License is $350. And the fee for an HVAC Contractor’s License is $400.
After you have paid the fee and submitted your application, you will receive your license in the mail. You must renew your license every year.
How to Renew Your Contractor’s License
To renew your contractor’s license, you must complete 16 hours of continuing education. You can find a list of approved courses on the Utah State Contractors Board website. The cost of the courses will vary depending on which course you choose. After you have completed the 16 hours of continuing education, you will need to fill out a renewal form and pay the renewal fee. You will also need to provide proof of your continuing education credits.
A contractor’s license is required in Utah if you want to bid on jobs. The process of obtaining a license is simple and can be done online. Following the above steps will ensure that you can get your license and renew it each year.
Keep reading such informative contents at bhtnews.com